Soukalova Wins Khanty Mansiysk Sprint

The Czech girl Gabriela Soukalova claimed here the second win of her career after she shot clean to win the women’s sprint. Two Germans, Andrea Henkel and Miriam Gössner finished on second and third position, 17.2 and 23.6 seconds back.
Fourth and fifth place went to Russia’s Olga Vilukhina and Slovakia’s Anastasiya Kuzmina. Kaisa Mäkäräinen was the fastest girl on the track but she finished out the top six.
For a few minutes, it looked like a 1-2 for Germany and a podium for Vilukhina. Then, Soukalova looked just like she did back in December at Pokljuka when she won the sprint and followed with two more podiums. Her shooting was spot-on and her skiing just as perfect as she flew around the last loop to claim a big win in the final sprint of the season.

Soukalova commented on her win, « I did not expect it; this is wonderful. I do not sleep very well; my body I son Czech Republic time. This morning I went for a short walk to breakfast and told one of my teammates that it was so cold that I did not want to race. She said, ‘you are going to win,’ and I told her she was crazy! »

The young Czech attributed her win to improved shooting. « My shooting was not so good after Christmas. I felt much stronger after relay in Sochi and had good training this week, so I had a feeling that would be more successful here. »

Laisser un commentaire

